Tag Archives: gluten free candy corn

A Guide to Gluten Free Candy

Who doesn’t love candy in some shape or form? Whether you’re partial to gluten free candy bars or enjoy melt in your mouth confections like gluten free maple squares, you’ll be happy to know that there is a huge variety of gluten free candy available. In our guide we’ll give you a list of gluten free candy manufacturers along with some tips for shopping for gluten free candy.

Shopping for Gluten Free Candy
If you go to the local grocery store, you may be disheartened in your search for gluten free candy. Unless it’s specifically labeled, how can you tell what is gluten free and what isn’t? While many companies use ingredients that don’t contain gluten, sometimes the packaging process DOES. (Some manufacturers coat their products in a gluten containing powder so it doesn’t stick to the packaging.) If you do shop locally, do some research ahead of time to determine which brands and individual products are gluten free.

The simplest way to find a great selection of gluten free candy is to shop online. From organic hard candy to gluten free candy corn, you’re likely to find what you’re looking for. There are several great merchants, even organic gluten free candy companies who have a terrific selection of gluten free candies to choose from. Since the internet is an easier place to post information than the local supermarket, these online gluten free candy stores are able to provide complete details.

Large Candy CompaniesGluten Free Candy List
Here is a partial list of the larger candy companies and the products that they currently list as gluten free. Manufacturing processes can change regularly, so please check all labels or call the manufacturer directly to verify.

Hershey’s – Hershey’s doesn’t provide a full gluten free list of their products. However, they do state that they will list all wheat, rye, barley, malt and oats ingredients on their labels and will disclosed shared equipment processes. Currently only Hershey’s Kisses and the 1.55 ounce milk chocolate and milk chocolate with almond bars are disclosed by the company as being gluten free. Call Hershey’s at 800-468-1714.

Nestle – Nestle offers a good selection of gluten free candy. Here is the current list: Milk chocolate bar, Baby Ruth, Bit-O-Honey, Butterfinger (only the original candy bar, not the spin off products), Goobers, Nips, Oh Henry!, Raisinets and Sno-Caps. Call NestleĀ  at 800-225-2270.

Mars – Are M&M’s gluten free? You bet! All varieties except the pretzel M&M’s do not contain gluten. Whew! Snickers and and Dove chocolate candies are also reported to be gluten free. Call Mars at 800-627-7852.

The best way to determine if your favorite candy is gluten free is to call the manufacturer. Most companies have a list they can share with you.