Tag Archives: common foods containing gluten

A Guide to Foods Containing Gluten

To successfully follow a gluten free diet, the first thing you need is a list of foods containing gluten. How can you know what to prepare if you don’t know what is allowed and what isn’t? Here we’ll give you a foods containing gluten list separated into a few categories. We’ll break it down by the grains that contain gluten, common foods that contain gluten, and less known ingredients that can be hidden in processed foods. By referring to this list as you do your shopping you’ll be assured of purchasing food that fits within a gluten free diet.

Common Foods Containing Gluten
The grains that need to be avoided are:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Oats (unless specifically processed to be gluten free)

Here is a list of everyday foods that contain gluten:

  • Beer
  • Bread
  • Bagels
  • Biscuits
  • Breading and bread crumbs
  • Cakes
  • Cookies
  • Cereals
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Doughnuts
  • Hamburger and Hot Dog buns
  • Pastas
  • Muffins
  • Pizza crusts
  • Pie crusts
  • Pancakes
  • Soy Sauce
  • Waffles

Note: Many of the above listed products can be made using gluten free cooking and baking techniques and many grocery stores are carrying gluten free versions. If a food is labeled gluten free, it’s safe to eat.

Hidden Sources of Gluten
You may not realize it but gluten can be hidden in a huge variety of products. Products like chewing gum, puddings, cocktail mixes and even non-dairy creamer can contain gluten. Here are a few ingredients to look for that can indicate that they are a part of foods that contain gluten.

  • Bran
  • Brewers Yeast
  • Binding
  • Durhum
  • Starch (this may be corn, but can also be wheat)
  • Emulsifiers
  • Farina
  • Fillers
  • Hydrolyzed protein (can be plant or vegetable)
  • Malt
  • Malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Modified food starch
  • MSG (monosodium glutimate)
  • Natural flavor
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Wheat protein

Naturally Gluten Free Foods
So, what is safe to eat? Fortunately most things are gluten free right from nature. It can be helpful to realize how much IS allowed within the guidelines of a gluten free lifestyle. All the following foods are perfect for a gluten free diet (assuming they have not been processed in any way):

  • Unprocessed milk, butter and cream
  • All meats
  • All fruits
  • All vegetables
  • All nuts
  • All oils

By carefully examining product labels you will soon learn to identify which contain gluten and which are safe to consume. Make yourself a gluten free products list. Do not be discouraged by the number of items that contain gluten. There are lots of gluten free baking techniques you can use to create your own gluten free versions – even gluten free cake. You don’t need to give up spaghetti, bagels or waffles – you just need to learn how to prepare them differently.